Kickstarter for Filmmakers: Week One

Wow, what a first week for the book!

I was hoping for good things when I undertook this venture, but holy crap, I didn’t expect this kind of response. Where to even start?

Over the weekend, Kickstarter for Filmmakers peaked on the iBooks Business chart at #2 and has been bouncing around the top ten ever since. I won’t get my first sales report for a couple months, so I still have no idea how many people have bought it, but it’s still pretty awesome to see it up there:

A lot of really cool stuff has been put into motion over the last week. Playback Magazine (the Canadian film industry’s Variety) has asked me to write an article about crowd funding for their next print edition.

In addition to that, Ted Hope’s blog, Hope for Film, has begun running excerpts from the book as of today. Two more are scheduled to go up next week, so if you’re still on the fence about downloading the book, be sure to check out the excerpts for a taste of what’s inside!

There seems to be demand for a print edition of the book, so I’m trying to figure out how to accomplish that. If you’ve got any suggestions, hit me up on Twitter. I’m basically making this all up as I go, so any insight would be lovely.

Some other really exciting opportunities have popped up, but since they’re not 100% yet, I don’t want to say much. Needless to say, it’s been an awesome first week with the book. Thanks to all that have supported it and bought it thus far!

JC

About cooperjim

My latest short film, Elijah the Prophet, stars Art Hindle and Melanie Nicholls-King. I just recently released my first ebook, Kickstarter for Filmmakers. Also, I write comics.

Posted on August 15, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

