Elijah the Prophet is a Go!

Two days ago (on Nov 26), the Kickstarter campaign for Elijah the Prophet came to a successful close. 134 backers pledged $21,006 to help us make the film happen. I’ve been riding that high all weekend, but it’s funny, because a lot of people have been asking me how I feel and saying things like “You must be relieved.”

While I’m certainly thrilled that we hit and surpassed our goal, I wouldn’t really use the word ‘relieved’ anywhere in the scope of my emotional spectrum. See, now that the money is firmly in place, it’s finally starting to sink in that it’s actually happening. We’re making the film. It’s not longer a ‘what if’ scenario, but a ‘when’ one. This is exciting and intimidating in equal measure.

Elijah the Prophet marks a significant jump in scope, budget and cast/crew for me. It’s the biggest project I’ve been involved with in literally every aspect. I don’t remember who said it, but there’s a saying that goes something like “the best way to improve is to surround yourself with people who are smarter than you.” Elijah the Prophet is the embodiment of that advice.

I expect December to be somewhat chill in terms of prep, but we plan to hit the ground running in January for a March shoot. I’ll keep you posted as things develop.

In addition to Elijah getting funded, I also landed a Producer for a short Zach & I wrote, so we’ll see how things shape up for that.

All in all, it’s looking like 2012 is going to be a great year.

JC

About cooperjim

My latest short film, Elijah the Prophet, stars Art Hindle and Melanie Nicholls-King. I just recently released my first ebook, Kickstarter for Filmmakers. Also, I write comics.

Posted on November 28, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

