Do You Believe?

This is the big one.

This past Wednesday, I launched a Kickstarter campaign for my next short film: Elijah the Prophet.

Written by Jesse & Zachary Herrmann, the script won this year’s Canadian Short Screenplay Competition and caught the eye of Producer David Cormican. It caught my eye, too, and was immediately determined to be the one to bring the script to screen.

After about two weeks of pitching to David, I landed the gig, and we went into overdrive putting the film together.

Two months later, we have a cast and crew that includes Brian Markinson from Caprica, Melanie Nicholls-King from The Wire and Rookie Blue, and Director of Photography Alwyn Kumst, who lenses for Degrassi.

20111015-193517.jpg
Concept art by Dave Franciosa

All this talent on board is only half the battle, though. Now, we’re tasked with raising the remainder of our buget through an all-or-nothing Kickstarter campaign where every dollar gets the project closer to fruition.

If you can’t believe in me, please believe in the incredible cast and crew that are helping me put this film together. Head over to our campaign page for full details on the film and consider your support.

Can’t pledge? You can still help us out in a big way by sending our link to any friends, family or enemies you think might be interested in what we’re doing.

I’ll be checking in with progress reports as we go, but needless to say, I’m in for a busy 45 days.

JC

About cooperjim

My latest short film, Elijah the Prophet, stars Art Hindle and Melanie Nicholls-King. I just recently released my first ebook, Kickstarter for Filmmakers. Also, I write comics.

Posted on October 15, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

