Bagged & Bored

Apologies for the recent onslaught of shameless self promotion. I don’t really intend on using the blog as a sales tool, but I figure you’re probably here because you dig my work, and if you dig my work, you might want to know when there’s new stuff to check out.

That brings us to today’s post and my new web comic: Bagged & Bored.

The history of Bagged & Bored is long, going back years to the very beginning of my serious interest in directing as a career. When I was first experimenting, making short videos with my friends in my apartment, I did a short lived series of episodes of what ended up being called “Roomies”, which followed two characters, Dave & Brandon (played by my friends Dave & Brandon) who were roommates that had pretty much nothing in common, and how that dynamic caused hilarity (or mediocrity, depending on who you ask).

Years later, I considered re-launching the idea as a web comic, because the shorts were essentially sketches anyway, existing really only as set ups to punchlines. I pitched the idea to an artist friend of mine, who loved the scripts I had come up with, and so we were off and running.

Nope.

My friend ended up just being too busy to really commit to it, and months later we parted ways on the project. After that happened, I decided the comic should have a niche, instead of trying to appeal to the broadest audience possible, and begun re-working the concept. Soon, the comic stopped resembling Roomies at all, and became Bagged & Bored. I kept the character’s names the same as homage to where the original inspiration came from, but their  personalities had completely changed.

I begun working on new scripts (and modifying existing ones) and it took me all of five seconds to realize my friend Zach Ellis was just the man to illustrate it. Thankfully, he loved the idea, and agreed, and this time, finally, we were off and running. For real.

The final piece to the puzzle was how to launch. We could simply toss the comics up on our own site and desperately push to get people to check it out, which sounded like a lot of work (especially the building/maintaining a website part), but I came up with a better idea: align ourselves with a comic/geek culture focused site and become part of their regular content, akin to the days when Penny Arcade was the strip you’d read in the back of Game Pro magazine.

We got lucky when Alice from TDot Comics loved the idea and brought us on board. It’s a great fit, they’re great people, and we’re very excited to be a part of their community of comic enthusiasts.

Now that I’m done rambling, here’s a look at episode one of Bagged & Bored. We launched August 1st, and will be uploading new episodes every Monday & Thursday between now and Fan Expo before moving to a weekly schedule in September. We’ll be at Fan Expo wandering the floor, handing out free Bagged & Bored comic strip bookmarks, so come find us!

 

Click on the comic to head over to our little corner of the TDot Comics site!

J.C.

 

About cooperjim

My latest short film, Elijah the Prophet, stars Art Hindle and Melanie Nicholls-King. I just recently released my first ebook, Kickstarter for Filmmakers. Also, I write comics.

Posted on August 5, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

