All Work & No Play Make James a Happy Boy… Wait, What?!

Anyone who knows me well enough can attest to one thing about me: I’m always working on something. There may be other common characteristics that come up, like “he’s tall” or “he’s an asshole”, but the one thing everyone can pretty much guarantee is that it’s not if I’m working on something, but rather, what.

I’m not one to rest and wait for things to happen. I’ve always been driven, and I often find myself buried in projects, but that’s the way I like it. As I like to say “If there are enough hours in the day to get everything done, I’m doing it wrong”

This, of course, doesn’t leave me with the most free time (something my wonderful, fantastic girlfriend is usually very understanding of. Usually.) but I like to keep myself busy. A big part of it has to do with the fact that what I do never feels like ‘work’, per say. I love what I do, and the day it stops being fun, I may as well hang it up, because I could be bored to tears doing anything else. I write because I love it. I direct because I love it.

I’m happiest when I’m knee-deep in a project. It’s nice once in a while to have a night off to relax, but more often than not, I’d rather be doing something productive. Right now I’m in the middle of developing two comic projects, editing a music video, and actively planning to shoot a new short film. This is when I’m happiest. Not when it’s “should I work on something tonight?” but rather “which project should I work on tonight?”

Are you doing what you love?

About cooperjim

My latest short film, Elijah the Prophet, stars Art Hindle and Melanie Nicholls-King. I just recently released my first ebook, Kickstarter for Filmmakers. Also, I write comics.

Posted on June 28, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

