Old Haunts

Keeping the momentum going after finishing my story for issue two of Holmes Inc., I have a story in an upcoming anthology series called Cryptophobia, published by Viper Comics.

The anthology series is launching this summer as part of a digital-first experiment. Viper is releasing issues of Cryptophobia on digital platforms, and using it’s performance there to judge if the series should go to print. The anthology will be full of stories with a focus on cryptozoology. Cryptozoology, for those uninitiated, is the search for animals whose existence has not been proven.

Throwing my name in the hat, I pitched Viper a story about the return of the Mothman of Point Pleasant, West Virginia. The pitch goes something like this:

Old Haunts is the story of Vincent Feldman, a small town police officer in Point Pleasant, West Virginia, whose  father, Walter, claims to have been one of the over 100 Point Pleasant residents to have encountered the fabled Mothman in 1966. When Walter calls him at work yet again, claiming strange occurances in his yard, Vincent hangs up on him. Soon after, Vincent is stopped cold in his tracks when he comes face-to-face with the creature he spent his life convincing himself didn’t exist: The Mothman.

It’s a little wordy, but I’m okay with that. The story comes in at seven pages, and I’ll be re-teaming with the talented Daniel Wong, who did the pencils for my Holmes Inc. story, The Family Name. I’ll have more info about the colorist soon.

I don’t have any information about when the issue will be released that my story is being featured in, nor what digital platform it will come out on. As soon as I have that info (and some art to show off) you can bet I’ll be back to tell you all about it.

About cooperjim

My latest short film, Elijah the Prophet, stars Art Hindle and Melanie Nicholls-King. I just recently released my first ebook, Kickstarter for Filmmakers. Also, I write comics.

Posted on May 30, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

