On Identity

Identity is a tough thing sometimes when you’re a creative professional. “What do you do?” is a question you hear often, sometimes daily, depending on the week. How do you answer? Up until recently, my answer was simple: “I’m a film Director and Writer.” then, last year, the answer started to change: “I’m a film Director and Writer, and I’ve also written a graphic novel.” and now, the answer has shook up quite a bit: “I write comics and I also write and direct film.”

What happened?

Well, simply put, it’s been a slow year for my film work. I haven’t shot anything, and the projects I’ve been writing haven’t come into fruition yet. However, since I dove into comics, things have been picking up: the graphic novel I wrote, Ban: Sidekicked, sold out of two self published print runs, and was picked up by Cloud 9 Comix for distribution on their iPad app. Then, in April, I wrote a story for an upcoming issue of Holmes Inc., which is a comic created (and edited) by Eisner award winning comic guru Ty Templeton. I also have a story under consideration at Viper Comics for one of their upcoming anthologies.

So, given what I’ve been up to lately, it makes the most sense to open with my comic work in a conversation, as it’s the more impressive at the moment. I have quite a bit happening in my film work as well, but at the moment, none of it has a solid greenlight, so it’s harder to boast about them.

It’s all about presentation, and how you present yourself at the onset of meeting someone immediately shapes their opinion of you. Thus, I keep my introduction maleable and once my film work begins to solidify into something more concrete (hopefully in the coming months) I’ll shape my introduction to reflect that.

About cooperjim

My latest short film, Elijah the Prophet, stars Art Hindle and Melanie Nicholls-King. I just recently released my first ebook, Kickstarter for Filmmakers. Also, I write comics.

Posted on May 25, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

