Sacrifice

It’s currently 11:12pm. The snow has finally seen fit to cease pelting Toronto, at least for now, and I should be at home getting ready for bed and playing with my cat. That, however, is not what’s happening. At all.

I’m sitting in the one place no one wants to be at 11:14pm: work.

A moment to provide background for those unfamiliar: My day job is as an Assistant Editor at a company that specializes in editing TV commercials.

Now, where were we? The office. Right. Ugh.

The reason I am here is by the machinations of no one but myself, let me make that clear before going any further. I would be remiss to place the blame on my boss or anyone else for that matter. This is my fault, and I am here because I am owning up to it.

In short, the reason I am here at 11:17pm is because I screwed something up at work on Friday. It was a detail I overlooked (involving the transfer of a significant amount of working files) that lead me to spend several hours Friday doing something incorrectly. The result: my boss didn’t have what he needed to work over the weekend, and I had to correct the error today (Monday). This became a bigger job than I initially thought, as the files that I were needed were much more plentiful than those I did transfer (which were unneeded).

We’re talking literally hundreds of gigs of files here. No small sum at all.

I’ve been transferring large amounts of files literally all day. This has proven to take a lot longer than I at first suspected. There are some complications in the matter that I won’t bore you with, but suffice to say, it is now 11:22pm and it will likely be several hours still before the task is done.

Why stay? Why not call it a night and pick it up again tomorrow? Well, the answer is simple: the ever present ticking clock. My boss is meant to take these files to an agency tomorrow morning to work on them. If he doesn’t have them, he looks bad. If I make him look bad, I look much, much worse. In theory, it could lead to the loss of a client, which in itself means major losses where it really counts: our revenue stream.

I refuse to contribute negatively to the reputation of the company, and so I am here, dutifully righting a wrong I could have avoided, should I have paid the proper care and attention to detail the job deserved in the first place. See, for literally the first time in my life, I have a job I’m proud of, and enjoy showing up to in the morning. I have a boss who is respectful of my contributions to the company as well as understanding of my mistakes. That is rare thing, and not a relationship I intend to abuse.

My error will actually cost me the comfort of my bed tonight, as the TTC will have long since stopped running by the time I’m free to leave here. Good thing there’s a couch in our office.

The point of this all is to really say: Own up to your faults. It’s not the mistakes you make that people will remember you for, but rather how you deal with them.

About cooperjim

My latest short film, Elijah the Prophet, stars Art Hindle and Melanie Nicholls-King. I just recently released my first ebook, Kickstarter for Filmmakers. Also, I write comics.

Posted on February 7, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

