The Greater Good

I told myself when I was first diving into the film industry that I had to be willing to sacrifice anything and everything if I was going to make a real go of it.
Caution and I were parting ways, and I decided to take a new approach: “Fuck it. Things will work out.”

That’s been my mantra for the last few years as I traversed the film industry. Whenever a fork in the road appeared and I had the choice of “Safe and financially sound” or “Risky, and not much/any money involved, but might be a good lead to _______”, I always went with the latter.

Recently, I took perhaps the biggest blind leap yet, and quit my job in favour of an internship, despite having very little money in the bank to put toward future rent, bills and groceries.

I like to call it a calculated risk, but in truth, it was more just the normal kind of risk. There wasn’t much calculating, and I’m not very good with numbers anyway.

In order to survive during my time interning (as I had no idea how long I would be doing so), I was pretty much forced to take a part-time job so that I could do things like eat (and feed my cat). The job I got was a soul-crushing position as Popcorn Bitch at a Cineplex theatre in downtown Toronto. It was painful to be at the bottom of the food chain again, but it was a necessary evil in the name of The Greater Good, The Bigger Picture, or whatever else you’d like to call it.

Well, as it turns out, “Fuck it. Things will work out.” has proven it’s worth yet again, and within a month of interning, I was offered a job. I have now quit my Popcorn Bitch position and can rest easy in finally having a day job that I don’t fear showing up to every day.

JC

About cooperjim

My latest short film, Elijah the Prophet, stars Art Hindle and Melanie Nicholls-King. I just recently released my first ebook, Kickstarter for Filmmakers. Also, I write comics.

Posted on October 25, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

